Day 2

We started off the day with breakfast in the Southside Dining Hall at George Mason University. After breakfast, I had a little bit of down time since I’d gotten up a little earlier. I took a mini walk around campus with a buddy and then we went back to the dorms to relax a little before the day.

Listening to Hoda Kotb speak was beyond inspiring. She took us through her entire journey from the end of her college years to where she is now anchoring for the Today Show. I never  would have thought that she faced the challenges that she did. If I had gotten rejected for job after job after job I don’t know if I would’ve been able to push through it like she did. I couldn’t even imagine how she must’ve felt after getting so many rejections one after the other. I admire her so much for pushing past all of the rejections to become who she is today. She mentioned that, when she got her first job, she realized that you only need one person to believe in you to be successful. Hoda also stressed the importance of learning from your mistakes because mistakes are going to happen, it’s unavoidable.

One of the things that she mentioned was to not be worried about the odds of becoming a journalist. I’ve known for about a year now that I want to go into a career into journalism and I’ve done all I can to pursue it at my school. However, so many people have told me that it’s not feasible that it’s not the best career path to take. I was at a family gathering and talking to my aunt and, when I told her what I wanted to do, she gave me an incredulous look and said, “Sweetie, do you want to make money?”

I know that the road I want to take isn’t going to be easy. But, journalism is something that I want to pursue. There’s no other career that I’ve looked into that I’m as passionate about as I am for journalism. I loved that Hoda talked about her journey and it made me feel so much better about what I want to do in the future. Her words allowed me to breathe for a second and think, I can do this. It’s possible. To know that she faced her own hardships and only grew as a person and a journalist makes me extremely hopeful for my own future.

Afterwards, we visited the Newseum. It wasn’t until I was through two floors did I realize why there was a special deal for two day passes to the museum. There was so much to see, I could’ve spent the entire time on one floor alone! I really hope I get the chance to visit again. It really opened my eyes to the world of journalism. I never realized that there was so much history behind this profession.

We had an opportunity to take photos in front of the White House and then we went on a Twilight Monument tour. The monuments were all beautiful in their own different way. It was amazing to see how each monument was designed to remember World War II, the Vietnam War, Abraham Lincoln, and the Korean War. There was so much thought put into each of the monuments and I couldn’t think of a better way to honor those before us.

It was definitely a long day and I didn’t even realize my feet were hurting until I finally sat down on the charter bus. Regardless, I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

Leave a Reply

